Saturday, May 9, 2015

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

4 "I Want More" Stars

Back Cover Blurb -
A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

“There are those who seek me a lifetime but never we meet,
And those I kiss but who trample me beneath ungrateful feet.


At times I seem to favor the clever and the fair,
But I bless all those who are brave enough to dare.


By large, my ministrations are soft-handed and sweet,
But scorned, I become a difficult beast to defeat.


For though each of my strikes lands a powerful blow,
When I kill, I do it slow …”

One of the things that I fear and hate the most, is when I come across a book that has terribly high and disgustingly gushy reviews, because in most cases that is a sure sign to me that I’m going to have a problem with it and most likely hate it (i.e. Twilight, Thoughtless, Gabriel’s Inferno, etc…).  Perhaps some could see that as a complete lack of taste on my part, but instead, I prefer to think myself a rebel. 

Whatever the case or cause though, you can then understand my excitement and reluctance when I came across this title with all of its glittering reviews and 5 star ratings.  I was reluctant because I wasn’t looking forward to spending a few hours of my life stuck in a book world that I loathed, but I was excited in the same breathe hoping that this might be one that actually managed to make me feel the same as everyone else.  Happily, this one fell into the latter category and I am still reeling from all the feelings that it suddenly made me fall into.  I will say though, that the first 75% or so of the book, I had feared that I found yet another “dud” book to add to my “Hated It” list, but the last 25% of this book really saved it for me and transformed it into a “must read” in my opinion. 

Rather than going into what the book is actually about, because that can easily be deduced by reading the back cover blurb, I’m going to do something a little different and list out the things I didn’t like and the things that I did…I will start with the dislikes first:

1.        Insta-love.  It would seem the older and more jaded I get in my age, the whole insta-love phenomenon that tends to happen in books becomes less romantic to me and a whole lot more annoying.  This to me though shouldn’t be confused with love at first sight, because even though they are closely related, insta-love happens more so after a few chapters as opposed to a few pages and though I don’t like either one, I can stomach insta-love a bit more than the other. 

2.       Our main heroine’s propensity for suffering from watery bowels.  Maybe it isn’t as bad as I am making it out to be, but every single time that Feyre’s bowels turned watery, it stuck with me and not in a good way.

3.       The main heroine, Feyre.  I found that I was constantly having to remind myself how young our MC really is, because her complete stupidity and annoying nature really grated my nerves on more than a few occasions.

Okay, now what I liked:

1.        Rhysand.  I seem to have a thing for the bad boys in a book/movie and Rhys is no exception.  That sexy beast grabbed and held onto my attention, regardless of his terribleness and I found myself rooting for him no matter who he was killing or what he was doing. 

2.       Everything else in the book.         

Okay, so readers that enjoy YA/Fantasy novels, this one is definitely for you.  Filled with romance, intrigue, drama and supernatural beings, this could easily rank up there with the bests in the genre.  If YA or Fantasy isn’t really your thing, but you have been interested in trying it…here you go, I would absolutely recommend that you start with this one.  If there is one more thing that I wanted to add to my dislike list, it would be that I have to wait till next year to get part two…but until then, I’ll be happily awaiting it.

Happy reading, until next time…

No comments:

Post a Comment